What is changing?

As of November 2014, Internet Explorer 8 and 9 are not longer supported by the web team. This ensures our efforts are focused on optimizing our websites in the best possible way. The updated standards include the following browsers:

  • Microsoft Internet Explorer 10
  • Microsoft Internet Explorer 11
  • Safari
  • Firefox*
  • Google Chrome*

*Because Firefox and Chrome regularly and automatically update their browsers, we always test to the most recent version available.

Why are we no longer supporting Internet Explorer 8 and 9?

  • Development to bring IE8 and IE9 up to modern coding standards requires a significant amount of time and resources
  • IE8 and IE9 have some of the lowest usage rates than any other browser and continues to lose market share daily
  • Explorer 8 is the latest IE browser supported on Windows XP, which Microsoft officially stopped supporting in April 2014
  • Microsoft has adopted an automatic update process that forces most IE9 users to auto upgrade to IE10, resulting in a shorter life cycle for IE9
  • Less time spent on older browsers frees up time to develop for the future and responsive design
  • Multiple versions of IE cannot be installed on a single machine, therefore a single person/machine dedicated to a specific version of IE is required
  • Additional tools would be required to support IE8 (BrowserStack, VMware, etc.)

What browsers are supported by the enterprise?

Google Chrome is now being offered as a secondary/alternative browser to HCA’s standard Internet Explorer (IE). If you require the use of Google Chrome then follow the standard process you would normally use to request software. Once approved, the software will be deployed to your computer using HCA’s standard software deployment tool, SCCM.