Web Accessibility

The Americans with Disability Act (ADA) and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act require that communications (including websites) to people with disabilities be equally as effective as communications with non-disabled people in their timeliness, accuracy and delivery method.

This means we have a responsibility to ensure that our websites are usable by ALL people, including those with disabilities. We are required by law to adhere to WCAG 2.0 AA accessibility criteria, which states that our websites must be:

  • Perceivable: available through sight, hearing or touch
  • Operable: compatible with keyboard or mouse
  • Understandable: user-friendly and easy to comprehend
  • Robust: work across browsers, devices and assistive technologies

View HCA's policy

Types of Disabilities

Those affected by Internet accessibility barriers are those with the following conditions:

  • Visual: blindness, low-vision, color blind
  • Hearing: hard of hearing, deafness
  • Motor: inability to use a mouse, slow response time, limited fine motor control
  • Cognitive: learning disabilities, distractibility, memory, inability to remember/focus on lot of info

By the Numbers

19% of the population has some kind of disability

8.5% of the population has a disability that affects computer use

What does this mean for my website?

All content (text, pdf, form, image, audio or video) placed on websites must adhere to ADA requirements. Accessibility is a nuanced field, but this broadly refers to the following:

  • Videos must have a caption (.SRT) file before they can be posted on our websites or YouTube
  • Documents (PDFs, Word, Excel, PPT, etc.) must be accessible and documents with form fields must be fillable into order to navigate the fields electronically